Since opening on February 6, 1943, the Campbell House Museum has served the greater St. Louis area as one of America’s premier historic property museums.
The Museum not only preserves the Campbells’ house, but also their collection of original furniture, fixtures, paintings, objects and thousands of pages of family documents. Included in these documents is a unique album of 60 photographs of the interior of the house taken in about 1885. In 2005, CHM completed a meticulous five-year restoration that returned the building to its opulent 1880s appearance, when the house was one of the centers of St. Louis society.
The Campbell House was documented as part of the Historic American Buildings Survey between 1936 and 1941, designated a City of St. Louis Landmark in 1971, listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1977, and became a National Trust for Historic Preservation Save America’s Treasures project in 2000.
“The Campbell House Museum enlivens the history of St. Louis and Westward Expansion through the story of the Campbell family and their home.”
As one of the most historically significant Nineteenth Century buildings in St. Louis, we work hard to preserve our National Register listed buildings and important collection of original furnishings, family possessions, photographs and archival material to serve as a center for education and community outreach programming.
The Campbell House Museum is owned and operated by the Campbell House Foundation, Inc., a 501c-3 non-profit organization. Click here to visit www.guidestar.org for more information.